Live At The Social Volume 1

[ release details ]
Released 1996
[ cover ]

Live At The Social

[ tracklisting ]
Heavenly, HVNLP13CD
 01 Introduction
 02 Meat Beat Manifesto - Cutman
 03 Davy DMX - The DMX Will Rock
 04 Cash & Marvellous - Mighty Hard Rocker
 05 Crooklyn Clan - Yes, We Can
 06 Carlos ‘After Dark’ Berrios - Doin’it After Dark (D-Ski’s Dance)
 07 Tainted Glass - Can’t
 08 Eric B & Rakim - Juice (Know The Ledge) (Main Mix)
 09 Red Snapper - Wesley Don’t Surf
 10 Lionrock - Packet Of Peace (Chemical Brothers remix)
 11 DJ Who - PB4UGO2BED
 12 Metro - To A Nation Rockin’
 13 Chemical Brothers - Get Up On It Like This
 14 Tim Love Lee - Again Son
 15 The Charlatans - Nine Acre Dust (featuring the Chemical Brothers)
 16 Funk D'Void - Jack Me Off
 17 Will Webb - Mirrorshades
 18 Selectah - Wede Man (Hoody Mix)
 19 Eddie Bo - We’re Doing It (Thang)
[ information ]

"Brothers Gonna Work It Out" is a mix album from the Chemical Brothers, and was typical of the type of material the guys played when DJing in clubs at the time. The Heavenly Social was a club in London which had the Chemical Brothers as one of its residents. The album was the first of a two part series. Jon Carter (The Monkey Mafia) mixed the second volume, which was released later in 1996. A sampler tape of Volume Two, mixed by Carter, was given away with Select Magazine July 1996.

[ reviews ] [ "The Heavenly Social was their house, and oh, how they rocked it" ]

As the Chemicals begin to push the boundaries of pop on the none-more-psychedelic Surrender, it's worth looking back on the days when they were less interested in blowing your mind than rocking your house. The Heavenly Social was their house, and oh, how they rocked it.

The Chemicals were notoriously self-deprecating about their mixing skills, and their DJ sets were known more for their anything-that's-funky-goes, head-in-the-speakers hedonism than for smooth transitions and long mixes. That said, while the mixing here may not be not technically perfect, it's more inventive and inspired than a thousand four-on-the-floor house sets - check that transition into Rakim's "Juice" for proof. How many DJs can make Meat Beat Manifesto, The Charlatans, Red Snapper and forgotten soul maestro Eddie Bo serve the same master? The Chemicals did this and more every week, and their enthusiasm for rule-book burning turned the Heavenly Social into the best party Sunday night had ever seen.

It's almost impossible to capture a good night out on an hour-long CD; Live at the Social is about as close as anyone's likely to get. Swerving from old school hip-hop through the Crooklyn Clan's anthemic "Yes We Can," the mix takes in everything from proto-big beat (The Chems' remix of Lionrock's "Packet of Peace," Metro's "To a Nation Rockin'") to bongo madness (Love Lee's "Again Son...") and minimalist techno (Will Webb's "Mirrorshades"). It crash-lands into two Socialist anthems, Selectah's "Wede Man" and Eddie Bo's "Thang." These are the dream records, the kind that get played at great house parties after the lights go up, the kind that make you want to kiss the DJ. The Heavenly Social was the best party of the decade - and this is a little piece of the legacy.